Day Zero: Flying to Italy

It’s vacation day! Yay! I wish I was feeling slightly better so I could be more enthusiastic. I have had a cold all week and had trouble sleeping last night because I was worried the flights would be super painful for my ears. Hopefully that will mean I sleep well ok the flight tonight. The good news is that while I am still blowing my nose I finally feel like I am on the mend.

We had a car pick us up at 8. I had booked a sedan but we received a suburban so that was a nice surprise. Despite it being rush hour we managed to get to DCA faster than I expected. We then checked our two bags and proceeded to the Delta Lounge since we still had two hours before our flight left.

The lounge had a great view over the airplanes. We got to watch airplanes taking off and parking.  Everyone had a comfortable seat and some snacks. 

We left the lounge at 11 to proceed to our flight as boarding news starting at 11:15. We got to the gate and regretting getting there early. Most seats were occupied. While we were at the gate a delta flight attendant approached the kids and asked if they wanted wings. 

The flight to JFK was very quick. We were mostly in clouds the whole time. We went up, and then we came back down.

We got to JFK shortly before 1. We are lunch at a Shake Shack and then after that we proceeded to the Delta Lounge to wait for our flight. We have a long layover at JFK. The kids have found the cookies and popcorn in the lounge. I have seen the wine but it is still too early (by my standards) for me to have a glass.

   

 

The JFK lounge does appear to be really nice. There are windows all around overlooking the airport runways. There is even a rooftop terrace but unfortunately it is closed right now. The lounge has recliners that are meant for napping (if necessary), high back chairs, work spaces, business center, and showers. I am debating if I shower before our next flight just so I feel refreshed.

Our flight to Milan leaves at 6. It is a 7 to 8 hour flight I think. I am looking forward to watching some movies on it that I have not seen before. We arrive in Milan around 7 AM their time tomorrow. Then we take either a bus or train to the center of Milan and hopefully our room will be ready and we can take our post flight nap. If it is not ready we could be doomed.

Once we get to Milan I will only be on my phone if there is wi-fi. I am going to try to get a SIM card for my phone so hopefully I am not limited to wi-fi.

Categories: Airplanes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

