I Love Maps

I love maps. I love to stare at them. I think it’s because when I look at a map I can always dream about places I can go. I do not however love to carry huge maps as a tourist that are cumbersome to use.

When my husband and I went to the United Kingdom last year I invested in some popout maps of Edinburgh and London. These maps turned out to be great. They were small enough they could fit in a pocket or purse. They were very easy to open and handle. And they contained the information I needed. The only problem I discovered was that there is no scale on the maps so what looks like a short distance may be longer than you expected (we learned the hard way in London).

So, for our upcoming trip I have invested in four popout maps. I recommend purchasing these before you book your accomodations as it is easy to tell if you are located within walking distance of sights or close to public transportation.



I love that public transportation is on the back:

And one of the maps is a broader city map…

…while another map is a city center map:

The other two maps are general area overviews:



You can usually find these maps on Amazon. This is the manufacturer:

Categories: Getting Around, Italy, Maps | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

