Day Two: South of Edinburgh and Edinburgh

We woke up at 5:30 AM in hopes of being out the door by 6 AM. We ended up leaving around 6:15 instead. We then headed on the road to the Union Bridge which straddles England and Scotland. The bridge was built in 1820 and is the oldest operating vehicular suspension bridge.

IMG_5003.JPG

We then headed to four more bridges. The other bridges were west of the Union bridge. After seeing the bridges we went to the Edinburgh airport to pick up my friend. The minute she got in the car it started raining.

I had bought tickets to your Edinburgh Castle for today. So once we arrived in Edinburgh we had to climb up to the castle. It was raining really hard and thundering so we ducked into a bistro for a quick drink and afternoon snack.

We then toured the castle, and it rained most of the time we were touring the castle. After seeing the castle we headed back to our hotel and had a drink with our friend. I managed to slip and fall down a few steps much to my embarrassment….I was getting some ice and someone came out from another door and I was distracted a slipped. I was ok, just embarrassing.

IMG_5033.JPG

We had dinner at the restaurant that was next door to our hotel. It was pretty good. Apparently you should have a reservation to dine there, but just our luck there was a cancellation and we were able to eat there.

We had to eat quickly as my husband and I had tickets to see the Royal Tattoo. It was really good and we had great seats. Earlier in the day I was concerned it would be raining the entire show. But the rain went away just in time for the show. The show ended around 10 and by the time we got back to our room it was around 10:30.

Now it is around midnight. Our plans don’t start until ten AM tomorrow. My husband is going to the top of a suspension bridge and I am *hoping* to go for a long run. I am not sure how that will turn out as I am a little sore. But the temperatures and humidity are much more favorable for running then where I am from.

IMG_5045.JPG

Categories: Edinburgh, Scotland | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

