Cell phone service in the United Kingdom

Our trip is coming up and as a result I have started to think about the things I still need to do. One of those items is to figure out what to do with my phone.

When we went to Europe last summer the kids were with us. As a result I was not concerned with obtaining a data plan for my cell phone. Anything I needed to do I could wait until I had wifi coverage. This year though the kids are not coming with us. I want to make sure I can still keep in touch with them regardless if I have wifi or not.

So – I am planning to purchase a sim card for my cell phone once we arrive in Edinburgh. There is a cell phone (Three Cellular) store 350 feet from where we are staying. I think one month of unlimited data is only going to cost me 15 pounds. This is much cheaper than obtaining a data plan from my current provider.

One thing you need to check before going this route is to make sure your phone will work with a sim card and also make sure it is unlocked. Thankfully my phone meets those requirements. I am also planning on keeping my phone off until I have the new sim card in it. Once the new sim card is in there I will have a different phone number for my phone. I think I have read that if I have a Google Voice telephone number I could give that out to people and as a result I would not need to tell them the new phone number.

Hopefully there are no complications…otherwise I am stuck to using the internet only when we are connected to wifi.

Categories: Data abroad | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cell phone service in the United Kingdom

  1. Pingback: I’m Going On Holiday Soon | Family Vacation Adventures

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

