Welcome

If you are just starting to follow my blog now, welcome.

I primarily started this blog so I can write about our trip to Europe that we are taking soon (July 27). We are bringing our kids, Bubba and Rhubarb with us. If they were not coming with us then nobody would really care about our trip (well, they would care but not as much). But since they are coming with us the grandparents and aunts and uncles want to see pictures and read about the trip. I figured a blog was a good way for me to post pictures, keep them informed, and also document our trip (assuming I have a wi-fi connection of course).

20130722-073633.jpg

The Rhubarb

Our trip is a two week trip visiting Europe. We will visit Germany for a little more than a week and then spend a couple of days in the Netherlands and a couple of days in Paris. The initial plan of the trip was to just visit Germany, but we could not go to Europe for the first time with the kids and not also see two special people in their lives, both who want to show our kids their country. We plan to rent a car for some of the trip and travel by train for some of the trip. Some of the trip we are staying with friends and family, some of the trip we are staying in hotels.

20130722-074218.jpg

The Bubba

The kids are 7 (Bubba) and 4.75 (Rhubbarb). Bubba is most excited for the Eiffel Tower, eclairs, and Haribo candy. Rhubarb does not know what to expect. I think she is just hoping she can be bribed to smile in pictures in exchange for a lot of ice cream. Both kids are hoping for a day at Disneyland Paris, but that has yet to be decided. I am most excited to watch the kids see Europe. The best summer I ever had was the summer I spent in Tokyo living with my uncle. Being able to witness different cultures and being in a country where English is not the primary language was amazing to me. I loved it. I can’t wait to see the kids experience this. Bubba has asked questions about how we’ll communicate abroad. I am eager to point out the differences in languages and architecture and food as we travel about. I can’t wait to ride the European trains.

20130722-073858.jpg

Rhubarb and me

Anyway, while I primarily started this blog to document our trip I have added my thoughts about other things to this blog. I grew up in a Type A family where everything was planned to the minute and itineraries and reservations were booked for every day of travel. Checking luggage was never an option. Sleeping in on vacation was never an option. When I go on a vacation I want to see as much as I can see. I figure I can always sleep when I get home 🙂 I think part of the fun of a vacation is planning the vacation and looking forward to that vacation. This trip has been on the horizon since September. I have had since then to dream and plan for this upcoming trip.

So, hopefully you will join us on our adventures as I update this blog. I love “traveling” with others on their trips by reading blogs or seeing Facebook statuses. And hopefully I can find wi-fi sites daily…if not you might have to wait a few days for an update. Here is a link to our itinerary: 2013 European vacation

Categories: About | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Welcome

  1. Jennifer

    Can’t wait to hear about your travels!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

